View video below
Have you ever wondered what you would do if you were in a motor vehicle crash and you were hurt, maybe you had to go to the hospital, maybe you had to go to the chiropractor? And you find out the person that caused the crash didn’t have automobile insurance? Even though it’s the law, they just didn’t carry it.
My name is David Boehrer and I’m an attorney here in Las Vegas, Nevada and I’m going to answer that question for you of how you can protect yourself from something like this happening to you.
In Nevada, insurance companies have a policy called uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. A lot of people simply skip over this and sign away their rights to it because it costs money and they don’t want to pay for it. And their insurance agent doesn’t explain to them what it is. But it’s very important you understand that the uninsured motorist coverage is there to protect you, not somebody else, it’s to protect you. It’s a policy that adds to your recovery so if the person that hit you doesn’t have any insurance your uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage will step in and take the place of the person that caused a crash and you can get compensated for your injuries that way.
It’s important that you add this to your policy because Nevada has a high rate of uninsured drivers. Secondary, the minimum policy limits in Nevada are $25,000/person $50,000/crash, or per incident, I should say. If you don’t have coverage to help you, uninsured motorist coverage, that’s the most you can get and a lot of times hospital bills cost more than $25,000. So it’s important that you reach out to your insurance agent. Tell them you really want to know more about uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and you’d like to purchase that on your policy. It will pay off in the end if you ever have to use it. And if you don’t, at least you have peace of mind.
Now that’s my answer for the day. I hope to see you soon. Thank you.