Workers' Compensation Lawyer in Henderson, NV
Workplace Injuries in Nevada
Workers compensation insurance is required in Nevada, meaning that if you suffer a workplace injury your medical care will be paid for. Worker’s comp, however, often works in conjunction with other liability insurances when a third party is involved in the incident. If the injury was caused by negligence on the part of someone besides your employer, you may be eligible to receive a settlement from this third party in addition to your workers compensation coverage.
While those who have more physical, labor intensive jobs tend to be injured the most, workers who engage in manual labor aren’t the only Nevada workers who suffer serious injuries on the job. Many could have been prevented, no matter what the cause, if the right care and safety precautions had been exercised by the employer. Worker’s compensation laws are different in every state, so having a local Henderson workers compensation lawyer who is familiar with the statues in your state is very important.
Do I Need Legal Representation?
In Nevada, the process for filing a worker’s compensation claim and retaining your rights to further legal action is extremely strict. If the injury isn’t reported and proper paperwork isn’t filed within a specified time period, you may lose your rights. For this reason, it is important to consult a knowledgeable Henderson worker’s comp attorney as soon as possible after an injury. While you may not need to file any additional claims above and beyond the insurance, only an experienced attorney can help you make this decision.
Many workplace injuries that escalate into legal filings have caused permanent disability. While worker’s comp insurance will pay medical bills and for lost wages, they do not offer enough money to compensate for a permanent or permanent partial disability.
Workers’ Compensation benefits can provide the following types of compensation:
- Compensation for lost wages: The length of time for which you receive benefits for lost compensation will depend on the type of disability that the Nevada Division of Industrial Relations determines that you have suffered. These include:
- Temporary Total Disability (TTD): This category of disability is for workers whom doctors have found to be unable to work for at least five days in a row or cumulatively for five days during a 20-day period.
- Temporary Partial Disability (TPD): Workers will be classified as having a temporary partial disability when the wage they would earn when they’re working again is less than what they would receive in TTD benefits. Workers with a TPD can earn benefits equal to the difference between their wage and TTD for up to 24 months.
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD): If a worker has become stable after an injury but it appears that they have not regained their full physical abilities possessed prior to their injury, they are eligible to receive a permanent partial disability rating that will depend on their age, wage, injury type, and medical evaluation.
- Permanent Total Disability (PTD): If a doctor finds that a worker has been rendered completely and totally disabled after a work injury, the worker will become eligible to receive benefits in an amount not exceeding 66.6% of their average income prior to the injury.
- Medical expenses: Workers are eligible to receive reimbursement of money spent on their medical costs, including medical equipment and mileage or travel expenses incurred when visiting the doctor.
- Rehabilitation costs: injured workers can seek costs relating to physical therapy and rehabilitation to heal from their on-the-job injury.
- Vocational rehabilitation: if a workplace injury has rendered a worker unable to return to their previous job, they may be entitled to vocational rehabilitation services. These can include job retraining classes, other education expenses, or help in finding a job with their new physical restrictions. Workers may also be entitled to compensation while they’re completing vocational rehabilitation. Vocational rehabilitation may last between 9 and 18 months, depending on the worker’s disability rating.
How Will a Workers’ Comp Claim Affect My Job?
All employers are required to carry work comp insurance in Nevada, so filing for this compensation should not be viewed negatively by management. In fact, it is illegal for the employer to harass you about a claim, or to fire you due to the injury. If any of these things occur, or if your employer refuses to give you the necessary information about filing a claim, a Henderson lawyer with worker’s compensation experience should be contacted immediately.
How Will an Experienced Henderson Workers Compensation Attorney Help Me?
Enlisting the help of an attorney can make navigating the worker’s comp process easier in a number of ways. These include:
- Offering guidance and advice: Filing an insurance claim for worker’s compensation can often seem like a convoluted process to those who have been injured. If you have a Henderson Workers Compensation Lawyer, he will guide you through this process, helping you work through the system.
- Fighting for a larger settlement: The settlement gained from a work-related personal injury claim can vary dramatically from one case to another. This is, in part, because it is often based on how much impact the injury has on your future. For this reason, an experienced Henderson Workers Compensation attorney will help you prove your disability rating and ensure you can recover as much money as necessary to secure your financial future.
- Helping you negotiate a settlement or representing you in court: While workplace injury suits do sometimes end in front of a judge, most are settled out of court. An experienced Henderson Workers Compensation lawyer will first aim to get the highest possible compensation through negotiation of an out-of-court settlement. Only if a suitable compensation amount cannot be agreed on with the insurance company will the case continue to the courtroom.
Why Choose Henderson Workers Compensation Lawyers at David Boehrer Law Firm?
The David Boehrer Law Firm in Henderson is customer-oriented, putting service and individual attention at the forefront with every client. We pride ourselves on getting business from referrals, not from television advertising or flashy billboards. We also operate under a contingency fee basis. That means that we only collect a fee from you if our Henderson Workers Compensation Lawyers are able to get a settlement. For more information on how we can help with a personal injury or worker’s compensation claim, contact our Henderson office at (702) 750-0750.