Car Accident Insurance Coverage in Nevada
You know you have car insurance to help you cover the cost of injuries and damages after a car accident, as should every driver in Nevada. But how exactly does Nevada car accident insurance coverage work? Do you make a claim with your own insurance company or with the other driver’s insurance company? How much car accident insurance coverage are drivers required to have, and what happens when a driver doesn’t have enough? And should you be worried that you’re receiving less car accident insurance coverage than you deserve? We hope to shed some light on these important questions here.
Filing an Insurance Claim after a Car Accident
When it comes to financial responsibility for losses arising from a car accident, such as vehicle damage, medical treatment, and lost income, Nevada follows a fault-based system for car accident insurance coverage. Under this system, the person who was at fault for causing the car accident is responsible for any resulting damages, and the person who suffered injuries or damages can file a claim directly with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. If you have been injured in a car accident that wasn’t your fault, an experienced Nevada car accident insurance coverage attorney can file the necessary claim(s) on your behalf and ensure you’re treated fairly.
Nevada Car Insurance Requirements
In Nevada, drivers are required to have liability car insurance coverage of at least $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $50,000 for total bodily injury or death liability, and $20,000 for property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle. These amounts are meant to cover the cost of medical treatment, property damage, and other expenses arising from car accidents. If these policy limits are exhausted, the at-fault driver is personally liable for additional damages.
Other Types of Car Accident Insurance Coverage in Nevada
Minimum liability car insurance is rarely enough to cover the costs of a serious car accident, and, with Nevada’s fault-based system, drivers could risk losing personal assets to pay for a car accident if insurance runs out. For this reason, you can carry additional insurance coverage to protect yourself and keep the insurance company responsible for paying accident damages. As the victim of a car accident injury or damages, other types of car accident insurance coverage can help you as well. For example, collision coverage can pay for repairs to your damaged vehicle, and uninsured motorist coverage can protect you if the at-fault driver has no insurance or if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run.
Speak with an Experienced Car Accident Insurance Coverage Attorney in Nevada
For all insurance companies, the goal is to pay as little as possible on claims, which is why legal representation makes a difference whether you’re dealing with an at-fault driver’s insurance company or your own. For more information about car accident insurance coverage in Nevada—and to ensure you get the insurance benefits you’re entitled to receive after a car accident—please contact Henderson personal injury attorney at David Boehrer Law Firm for a free consultation.