What Is a Nevada Worker’s Compensation Lawsuit?
In Nevada, worker’s compensation is like an insurance program required by law to be provided by employers. This program provides workers with benefits and other payments if they are injured on the job. While this sounds like a simple process, sometimes workers’ claims are wrongfully denied. If that happens, the worker may need to file a worker’s compensation lawsuit.
What Does Nevada Worker’s Compensation Cover?
The state of Nevada ensures that workers receive the following compensation if they’ve been injured at work:
- Appropriate medical treatment
- Reimbursement for lost time
- Permanent partial disability
- Vocational rehabilitation
- Payments to dependents (in the unfortunate event of death)
- Other relevant and necessary benefits or expenses
What Are Different Types of Nevada Worker’s Compensation?
In Nevada, there are several different types of worker’s compensation:
- Temporary Partial Disability: This benefit is paid when a worker can still temporarily work or is working for lower pay as a result of the injury or illness. The maximum amount of time a worker can receive Temporary Partial Disability is 24 months
- Permanent Partial Disability: This benefit is paid when the worker’s injury results in a permanent disability (i.e., loss of physical function). While on Permanent Partial Disability, workers are paid every two weeks until their award is fully paid
- Temporary Total Disability: This benefit is paid when a worker is unable to work on a temporary basis. The worker can recover lost wages at 67% of their total lost wages
- Permanent Total Disability: This benefit is paid if the worker’s injuries result in permanent disability and an inability to be gainfully employment. Workers receiving Permanent Total Disability benefits can do so for a longer period of time. The benefits paid are calculated as 66-2/3rds of the worker’s average monthly wage
- Death Benefits: If a worker’s injuries result in death, the worker’s compensation death benefits will pay up to $10,000 toward burial expenses. The survivor benefits are then divided among the surviving spouse and dependents
When Does a Worker Have to File a Worker’s Compensation Claim?
The worker has 90 days to file for worker’s compensation benefits from the date they discovered their injury. The employer’s insurance provider then has 30 days from the receipt of the worker’s claim to approve or deny the claim. If the insurance company denies the worker’s claim, the worker may request a hearing within 70 days or seek an appeal within thirty 30 days.
Get Help with Your Claim
The David Boehrer Law Firm is highly experienced in worker’s compensation cases. We will work hard to provide you with the result you deserve, and invite you to call us today at (702) 750-0750 to set up your free initial consultation.